Unionsystem Review (2026): Japan’s 300-Piece Cosmetics OEM Is an Osaka Logistics Company. Here Is Why That Matters.

Home / Industry Insights

Table of Contents

Quick answer

Unionsystem Co., Ltd. is the Japanese "small-lot cosmetics OEM" that English-speaking founders find first, because its English site promises production "from 300 pcs". Read its Japanese company profile and a different picture appears: an Osaka logistics and distribution-processing company, established in December 1990, with ¥35 million capital, a trucking licence, a confectionery licence — and, since 2020, full cosmetics and quasi-drug manufacturing licences (company-stated, checked 26 September 2026). My verdict: conditionally endorsed for character-licensed, gift and packaging-led skincare in small runs, where its logistics DNA is a strength. Not for formulation-led or claims-heavy skincare — and settle one paperwork question first: its English and Japanese sites show different licence numbers.

Two websites, two companies?

The English site, Cosmetics OEM Japan, presents Unionsystem as a Tokyo cosmetics OEM in Chiyoda-ku offering small lots at low prices, character creams (Disney, Pokémon, Sanrio, Doraemon) and basic skincare, with an MOQ "from 300 pcs" (cosmetics-oem-japan.com, checked 26 September 2026). Character products also need the brand owner’s licence and a Disney-signed authorisation for the factory itself; our data study of Disney’s Southeast Asian facility list explains how that works. The Japanese corporate site tells the fuller story (Unionsystem company profile). The head office is in Kanan-cho, Minamikawachi-gun, Osaka. The Tokyo address is the Creative Division. The core businesses are distribution processing — assembly, packing, inspection, labelling, kitting — and trucking.

Neither site is wrong; they are written for different readers. But an overseas founder who only reads the English site will assume a formulation factory in Tokyo. What they are actually dealing with is a licensed Osaka processing and logistics company whose Tokyo team develops licensed-character products and takes OEM orders, with inspection done in-house. That changes which questions you need to ask.

Unionsystem English Cosmetics OEM Japan website advertising small lots
The English-language face: "Cosmetics OEM Japan — small lot, low price". Captured from cosmetics-oem-japan.com on 26 September 2026.

The history, from warehouse to licence

The Japanese profile sets the timeline out plainly. In 1980 the founder built a warehouse at the current head-office site. Unionsystem was established as a limited company in December 1990 and began assembly and logistics work in 1991. It became a stock company in 2004, launching the Creative Division and a Tokyo branch. In 2010 it obtained quasi-drug and cosmetics manufacturing licences limited to packaging, labelling and storage. In 2017 it added a cosmetics manufacturing-and-sales licence. In 2020 it obtained general (full-scope) quasi-drug and cosmetics manufacturing licences.

So the licence to actually manufacture — not just pack and label — is about six years old. That is not a criticism; plenty of good factories are young. It does mean the company’s deep experience is in handling, packing, inspecting and shipping consumer goods, and its client list reflects that: the profile names Sanrio, Takashimaya, Kiddyland, Happinet, Banpresto, NHK Enterprises and Avex Marketing among its main customers. For a character or gift product, that is exactly the experience you want.

Unionsystem Japanese company profile page listing Osaka head office, licences and distribution-processing business
The Japanese company profile: Osaka head office, established December 1990 (Heisei 2), capital ¥35 million, licences listed on the left. Captured from unisys-cr.com on 26 September 2026.

The licence-number question

Here is the one item I would settle before paying a deposit. Both sites list the same cosmetics manufacturing-and-sales licence, 27COX00919. But the manufacturing licences differ. The English site lists quasi-drug manufacturing 27DZ200113 and cosmetics manufacturing 27CZ200265. The Japanese profile lists quasi-drug manufacturing (general) 27DZ200341 and cosmetics manufacturing (general) 27CZ200797. The "27" prefix is consistent with licences issued in Osaka Prefecture, which fits the head-office location.

There is a likely innocent explanation: the English site may still show the 2010 licences, which covered packaging, labelling and storage only, while the Japanese site shows the 2020 general licences. If so, it is an out-of-date web page, nothing more. But the difference matters: a packaging-only licence does not cover making the product. Ask Unionsystem for copies of the current licences, confirm which one covers the premises that will make your product, and keep them on file for your importer.

The company on paper (public records)

Legal name Unionsystem Co., Ltd. (Kabushiki Kaisha Union System)
Established December 1990 (limited company); stock company since 2004
Head office 465 Ichisuka, Kanan-cho, Minamikawachi-gun, Osaka
Creative Division Garden Park Bldg. 4F, 3-27-3 Kanda-Sakumacho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo
Representative Yoshihide Nomura
Capital ¥35 million
Licences (Japanese site) Cosmetics manufacturing-sales 27COX00919; quasi-drug manufacturing (general) 27DZ200341; cosmetics manufacturing (general) 27CZ200797; confectionery; general cargo trucking
Licences (English site) 27COX00919; 27DZ200113; 27CZ200265
Categories Basic skincare, character-licensed creams, gift sets; distribution processing
ISO 22716 Not stated
Published MOQ / lead time From 300 pcs / "short" (no figure)

All values company-stated from unisys-cr.com and cosmetics-oem-japan.com, checked 26 September 2026.

Published terms: the 300-piece promise

Unionsystem is the only company in this five-part Japanese series that publishes an MOQ, and at 300 pieces it is genuinely low by Japanese standards. The English site promises competitive pricing for small lots and a short lead time but gives no price and no lead-time figure. The Japanese site adds one useful detail: products made through the Creative Division get 100% domestic inspection, including needle detection, in its own processing department.

Read the offer for what it most likely is: a stock-base approach. At 300 pieces, you are almost certainly choosing from existing bases and customising fragrance, colour, packaging and printing, rather than commissioning a new formula with stability and efficacy studies. That is a perfectly good way to test a market. It is not the way to launch a clinical-claims serum.

Who should call them — and who should not

Call them if: you want a first run of a few hundred "made in Japan" units to test a market; your product is a character-licensed, gift or souvenir item where packaging, printing and inspection matter as much as the formula; or you need a Japanese partner that can also pack, store and ship.

Look elsewhere if: your product depends on active ingredients, efficacy claims or a bespoke texture; you need ISO 22716 documentation for a retailer; or you plan to scale quickly to tens of thousands of units. For formulation-led skincare in Japan, compare our reviews of TOA (formerly Nihon Kolmar) and Toyo Beauty.

Related Manufacturers

More reviews in the OEM Manufacturer section.

FAQ

What is the lowest MOQ for skincare made in Japan?

Among the five Japanese OEMs in our series, Unionsystem publishes the lowest: from 300 pieces (company-stated, 26 September 2026). Expect that floor to apply to existing bases with custom packaging; a new formula or special packaging usually raises it. Confirm the MOQ for your exact product in writing.

Is Unionsystem a real cosmetics manufacturer?

It holds a cosmetics manufacturing-and-sales licence (since 2017) and, per its Japanese site, general cosmetics and quasi-drug manufacturing licences (since 2020). Its core business is distribution processing and logistics. Ask for copies of the current licences, because its English and Japanese sites list different manufacturing licence numbers.

Where is Unionsystem located?

The head office is in Kanan-cho, Minamikawachi-gun, Osaka Prefecture. The Tokyo address in Chiyoda-ku, shown on the English site, is its Creative Division.

Is Unionsystem ISO 22716 certified?

Neither site states ISO 22716 as of 26 September 2026. It holds Japanese manufacturing licences, which are the legal baseline in Japan. If your retailer or distributor requires ISO 22716, ask for evidence before ordering.

Can Unionsystem make character-licensed skincare?

Yes — that is the Creative Division’s speciality. It states it plans and makes character goods under contracts with Japanese and overseas licensors, and lists Sanrio among its main customers. Licensing rights are a separate contract; check who holds them for your market.

Limitations of this review

This is a desk review. I did not visit Unionsystem’s Osaka premises, test products or request a quotation. All facts are company-stated from its Japanese and English websites on 26 September 2026. I could not independently check the licence numbers against a prefectural register, so the explanation offered for the difference between the two sites is a hypothesis, not a finding. I could not confirm where production takes place or whether any part is subcontracted. Prices and lead times are not published. Google Maps ratings were not captured. Verify all commercial and regulatory details directly with the company before committing.

How this review was researched

Sources: Unionsystem Japanese corporate site, company profile page (captured 26 September 2026); Cosmetics OEM Japan English site (captured 26 September 2026). Licences and certifications are company-stated unless a record is cited.

⭐ OEM Review CONDITIONALLY ENDORSED — Japan’s 300-Piece Entry Ticket, 2026. Endorsement scope: character-licensed, gift and packaging-led skincare in small first runs. Questions on record: manufacturing licence numbers differ between the English and Japanese sites; no ISO 22716 stated; production site for OEM orders not specified.

About this review

Aiman Zafran is a reviewer and researcher covering OEM and ODM manufacturing across Asia. Every figure and company detail in this review comes from publicly available sources — the company’s official websites — each captured on the dates stated in the text. Figures that were not publicly available were not used. Conclusions and verdicts are one reviewer’s professional opinion, formed by comparing these public facts against other manufacturers measured the same way, and are offered for reference only; verify all commercial and regulatory details directly with the company before committing.

Post Tags:

Share: